Some wagon models I have built.

Discussion in 'Station Wagon Memorabilia & Toys' started by Jairus, Sep 6, 2011.

1. Jairus

Jairus Well-Known Member

Wagon Garage:
    I have been a model car builder since 1968. Starting in 1986 however, I began a line of woody models with the plan to build one example of every Ford woody in 1:25th scale. To date I have a 1928, 30, 32, 36, 38, 40, 41, 48, and 49 either done or nearly done. Some are spread to the winds, most were constructed prior to the advent of the digital photo storage system so it will take time to post pictures of them all. But... here is the first!

The 1941 Wagon began as an article I wrote for Model Cars Magazine back in 1999 explaining how to build a real wood woody using the then new AMT model kit as a basis. All the plastic cast wood has been replaced with real model rail road basswood strip including the roof slats. The bits never got finished initially because they were only for explanation of the process for the article, so in 2005 I finally finished the model kit and built what I call "Driftwood". A semi drag, semi surf/rat rod along the lines of the '33 wagon featured in the movie "That Darned Cat".

[​IMG]

All the wood you see in this build is real wood.... albit slightly weathered.
    Not all the Woodies I build are like this. Most have shiny coats of paint/varnish, but all are built in very different ways and all to date use real wood for the box.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Unclear here is the engine, but what is installed is a late 50's Desoto Hemi running eight single barrel carbs.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The model currently resides in the collection of Virgil 'Dr. Cranky' SuÄrez, a noted author and model car builder.

[​IMG]

And an illustration of the model done in '02 or '03 which inspired me to build a model of it.

[​IMG]

2. MotoMike

MotoMike Well-Known Member

Very creative! You're very talented. Post more when you get a chance.:2_thumbs_up_-_anima

3. wagonmaster