New to forum

Discussion in 'The Welcome Wagon' started by beckjr, Oct 11, 2021.

1. beckjr

beckjr New Member

Hello I am the lucky new owner of a 1985 Nissan Maxima wagon GL. I am 55. I am also a portrait artist, electrician, woodworker. I do a little bit of everything ... master nothing. I keep trying. My art teacher, more like adopted Mother, gifted me this vehicle because I was sideswiped which totaled my truck. I have fallen in love with gem of a car and I am tying to get it in good working order. The heater core is going out or at least there are symptoms saying it is...antifreeze leaking on passenger floor....still have heat tho. I cant seem to find a replacement heater core and that problem has led me here. Any help will be greatly appreciated

Attached Files:

WagonTheDog and fannie like this.
  2. jaunty75

jaunty75 Middling Member

Welcome.

That is odd about the heater core, but you're right. I can't find one for an '85 Maxima anywhere. Rockauto does have heater cores for SOME '85 Nissans, but not the Maxima.

The way I see it, you have four options.

1. Have yours repaired. Heater cores are just little radiators, and radiator shops can fix them if they're fixable. You'll have to remove it and take it to a shop for an opinion.
    2. Find an NOS core on ebay or still sitting on the shelf at the local Nissan dealer. In fact, you might call or visit a nearby Nissan dealer and ask about this. They might have options that don't show up on the internet, or they might be able to search their parts network to see if a dealer anywhere still has one on the shelf.
    3. Find a good used one from a junkyard car.
    4. Compare yours visually to what IS available for other '85 Nissans or nearby model years and see if anything matches close enough that it could be used. Again, you'd have to remove yours to get a good look at it and make measurements, or you might find this information in a service manual.

WagonTheDog and fannie like this.
  3. OrthmannJ