First year teacher, new wagon owner seeks community

Discussion in 'The Welcome Wagon' started by texapianoman, Oct 26, 2018.

1. texapianoman

texapianoman New Member

I'm a first-year teacher located in central Arkansas, and I've recently been offered (for free) a one-owner 1988 Mercury Colony Park wagon. 140,000 miles. She ain't perfect, but it's in pretty decent shape. 5.0 EFI engine, and has a recent head gasket leak. I mean, it's a pretty major oil leak. I've driven it, though, and everything right down to cruise still works. I hope to pick it up this weekend, but I already know of a few things she'll need. Is it too early in the ballgame to make requests? At the moment, I know I'll need a driver's side tail light lens. Were I to replace the wood siding, what are my best options? Best procedure with refinishing/vinyl dye on interior plastic? Too many questions? Thanks for taking the time to read all this! Any and all information is appreciated.
    -Daniel

VangoatNC and fannie like this.
  2. texapianoman

texapianoman New Member

Here she is, by the way.

Attached Files:

Grizz likes this.
  3. AK27

AK27 Well-Known Member

Welcome texapianoman! Nice looking wagon!

4. HotRodRacer

HotRodRacer Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Wagon Garage:
    "Free" is most always good, unless you are talking STD's or something. :) Welcome to the forum! Explore around and post your requests in the "Parts Wanted" section to et more visibility.

fannie likes this.
  5. BrianandaPTCruiser

BrianandaPTCruiser Member

Holy crap! That nice for free! I'm living wrong, I guess.

6. Krash Kadillak

Krash Kadillak Well-Known Member

Wagon Garage:
    Welcome, Daniel.
    Back in 1989, I had to pay a few thousand for one of those (a '84...), and it burned up on me 10 days later......

Let's address your questions: