'87 Country Squire misfire

Discussion in 'General Automotive Tech' started by JBGarner, Jun 24, 2020.

1. JBGarner

JBGarner Member

Hey all. So I have a 1987 Ford Country Squire. It is my daily driver, and man, do I put the miles on it. I am a teacher, so since summer has officially begun, we decided to do an engine swap. Nothing fancy. We just had another 302 that we cleaned up. We put some E7 heads and a new cam in it (the cam has since been swapped to the original because we were concerned that was causing the issues). We have replaced the distributor, the air charge sensor, the ignition coil, the MAP sensor, spark plugs, and the IAC. Compression checks were ok, 175 +/_4. Vacuum checks were ok, 16-17. Fuel pressure checks were ok, 30 idle 42 acceleration. Injectors were ok, all between 14 and 16. The problem comes with accelerating from a stop. It will feel a little low on power and then it makes a little puff. It's not a backfire. We are struggling to figure out what is wrong with it. Anyone have any ideas on what to look at next? We would like to avoid going to a mechanic because we don't have a lot of money.

2. Silvertwinkiehobo

Silvertwinkiehobo "Everything that breaks starts with 'F.'"

Vac is low, 18 is the minimum you want, and should be 18-22". Because your CS is fuel injected, any vac leak affects the MAP, as well as leaning out what fuel the computer does let into the engine. You need to do the old 'tried and true' method of finding vacuum leaks by spraying carb cleaner along the lower intake sides, both sides of the lower manifold/upper plenum attachment, and the throttle body, EGR valve and spacer. Then, you need to verify that all vac lines are plugged in and intact, not split, including the PCV line and valve. There isn't much as compared to a carbureted engine to check, but it is much more important. Let us know what you find, I am a Mech/tech, so if you have questions, you are more than welcome to PM me.

Doghead likes this.
  3. JBGarner